Wallingford, Vermont 05773
Wallingford VT History, Real Estate, Lodging & Dining Information
Wallingford, Vermont is located just south of Rutland on Route 7. The town was given a land grant by the Governor of New Hampshire in 1761. The town is named for Wallingford, Connecticut, the home of Eliakim Hall, the first-named grantee. Located in Rutland County, the town encompasses the villages of Wallingford, South Wallingford, and East Wallingford, occupying a total of 42 square miles.
The area enjoyed prosperity in the past because of the railroads which passed through them. According to the locals, maple syrup was first made in Vermont at Sugar Hill in Wallingford.
The founder of Rotary International, Paul Harris, lived in Wallingford, and the Wallingford Rotary holds its weekly meetings in the brick schoolhouse where Harris attended school. White Rocks Recreation Area is located just east of Wallingford village on Route 140 and offers hiking trails and picnic areas.
Night Eagle Wilderness Adventures, PO Box 479, Wallingford, VT 05773 | 802-885-8661
A unique primitive summer camp for boys, ages 10 -14. Boys develop an authentic sense of personal accomplishment and learn to rely on their own ingenuity as they live in tipis, learn wilderness skills, canoe, hike, throw tomahawks and atlatls, cook over an open fire and so much more! Through community living and group decision making, campers learn to work and play together in a spirit of cooperation rather than competition. Accredited by the American Camp Association.
Visit Night Eagle Wilderness Adventures - Wallingford, VT
Wallingford, VT Population:
Wallingford, VT Local Information
Wallingford Town Offices: 802-446-2336
New England Living Magazine