Northeast Kingdom

Northeast Kingdom Vermont

NEK St. Johnsbury, Burke, Jay Northern VT Living

Northeast Vermont or the Northeast Kingdom region of Vermont has long attracted naturalists, artists, writers, and poets drawn to the solitude, slower-pace, and natural beauty. The “Northeast Kingdom of Vermont” is comprised of Caledonia, Orleans, and Essex counties.

The Northeast Kingdom is a four-season vacation destination that offers fishing, skiing, boating, hiking, biking, snowmobiling, golf, birding, and more. There are deep lakes, many ponds, and large farms in the Northeast Kingdom – the most rural of Vermont’s five regions.

Welcome to “The Kingdom” as many Vermonters in the area refer to this part of the state. This is the forgotten corner that is known as  “the real Vermont”.  Ask us about the Northeast Kingdom, VT visits, or share your Vermont information or comments. To feature your Vermont business, contact us.

Northeast Kingdom Vermont communities

Northeast Kingdom Vermont Vacations
Northeast Kingdom Vermont

inns | hotels | resorts | rentals | attractions | dining | real estate

Vermont Travel Information Vermont Living Northeast Kingdom VT


The Northeast Kingdom is comprised of the three northeasternmost counties in the state: Caledonia, Orleans, and Essex.

Caledonia County Vermont

Caledonia County VT

Population: 31,227

County Seat: St. Johnsbury

Towns – Barnet, Burke, Danville, Groton, Hardwick, Kirby, Lyndon, Newark, Peacham, Ryegate, Sheffield, St. Johnsbury, Stannard, Sutton, Walden, Waterford, Wheelock

VillagesWest Burke, East Hardwick, Mackville, Lyndonville, Lyndon Center, East Lyndon, South Ryegate, East Ryegate, Ryegate Cornerpeacham_danville

Essex County Vermont

Essex County VT

Population: 6,306

County Seat: Guildhall

Towns – Averill, Bloomfield, Brighton, Brunswick, Canaan, Concord, East Haven, Ferdinand, Granby, Guildhall, Lemington, Lewis, Lunenburg, Maidstone, Norton, Victory

Villages, Grants, Gores Avery’s Gore, Island Pond, Beecher Falls, Warner’s Grant, Warren Gore

Orleans County Vermont

Orleans County VT

Population: 27,231

County Seat: Newport

Towns – Albany, Barton, Brownington, Charleston, Coventry, Craftsbury, Derby, Glover, Greensboro, Holland, Irasburg, Jay, Lowell, Morgan, Newport, Troy, Westfield, Westmore

VillagesAlbany Village, Orleans, Beebe Plain, Derby Center, Derby Line, North Troy

Vermont Towns

VT Lodging Guide | VT Maps |

VT Attractions | VT Realty

VT Products
| Visit VT Towns | Shopping

New England Living Magazine